Dave Barthelmy

From:

Sent:

MSA-Announce List To: Subject: July 2008 Am Min online Dear MSA Member, [1] The July 2008 (v. 93 n. 7) American Mineralogist is online. If your institution subscribes to GeoScienceWorld (GSW) go to: <http://ammin.geoscienceworld.org/> If you have a personal subscription to the journal through MSA, and want to access the journal on GeoScienceWorld (GSW), go to: <http://msa.minsocam.org/geoscienceworld.html?p=1> or see it on the MSA website at: <http://www.minsocam.org/MSA/ammin/toc/2008/July08.html> ****** [2] The June 2008 (v. 4 n. 3) Elements is online. If your institution subscribes to GeoScienceWorld (GSW) go to: <http://elements.geoscienceworld.org/> or see it on the Elements website at: <http://www.elementsmagazine.org/elementsonline.htm> ****** [3] Attending Goldschmidt 2008? The Dana Medal Award Ceremony is Friday, 18 July at 12:30 pm in Room H6, Session 07h: "Crystallography of Petrologically Significant Minerals: Symposium in Honor of Thomas Armbruster". The session continues after lunch with Dr. Armbruster's Dana Medal Lecture at 14:45 - "The Triplite-Wagnerite Group: A Modulated Series". There will be a brief presentation of the Dana Medal during the award ceremony on Wednesday 16th July at 09:15 am as well. ****** [4] The 2008 short course is "Minerals, Inclusions and Volcanic Processes", 13-14 December 2008, San Francisco CA, USA. Description and registration is online at http://www.minsocam.org/MSA/SC/ #volprocess> ****** [5] MSA will have its range of social and technical functions at the

Monday, June 30, 2008 01:04 PM

MSA-Announce@lists.minsocam.org on behalf of J Alex Speer [j a speer@minsocam.org]

GSA meeting, Houston, Texas (October 5-9, 2008). This is also MSA's

Annual Meeting. If you are planning to attend registration is open at https://www.acsmeetings.org/2008/>.

The Roebling Medal will be presented to Bernard W. Evans (Donna Whitney, Citationist) and the MSA Award to James Badro (Ho-kwang "Dave" Mao, citationist) at the MSA Awards Lunch 12:30-02:30 p.m. on Tuesday, October 7, 2008. The 2007-2008 MSA Distinguished Lecturer's will also be recognized: Lukas P. Baumgartner, Daniele Cherniak, and Steven Jacobsen.

Later in the afternoon the Roebling Medal Lecture starts at 3 pm and Bernard Evans will speak on "Two examples of element-exchange equilibria in petrology". This will be followed at 4 pm by Peter Heaney giving his MSA Presidential address titled "Making Crystallography Dynamic: Real-Time Studies of Mineral-Fluid Reactions using X-ray Diffraction". The MSA Business Meeting follows from 5:00-5:30 pm, and the MSA/GS Joint Reception from 5:30 to 7:30 pm.

======== end of message ==============